2016 Ghastly Award Winners

Share & Comment

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2016 Ghastly Awards. The Ghastly Award Judges chose the Nominees from the books submitted by Comic Creators and Publishers throughout 2016. Winners were voted on by Comic Book Creators, Publishers and the Fans. The Ghastly Judges congratulates all 2016 Winners and Nominees. It is an honor to be recognized by your fellow professionals for such outstanding work in horror comics.

The 2016 Winners are:

Best Ongoing Title
Harrow County
(Dark Horse Comics)

Best Limited Series
(Alterna Comics)

Best One-Shot
Locke & Key: Small World
(IDW Publishing)

Best Anthology
John Carpenter’s Tales for a Halloween Night Volume 2
(Storm King Productions)

Best Short Story in an Anthology
“When the Devil Walked in Dower”
(Insane Tales From the Dead #3)

Best OGN
Dylan Dog: Mater Morbi
(Epicenter Comics)

Best Archival Collection
Collection of previously released material / Historical Book on Horror Comics
Aliens 30th Anniversary: The Original Comic Series
(Dark Horse Comics)

Best Writer
Cullen Bunn
(Harrow County, The Sixth Gun, Blood Feud, Death Follows)

Best Artist
Tyler Crook
(Harrow County)

Best Colorist
Dave Stewart
(House of Penance, B.P.R.D. Hell on Earth) 

Best Inker  
Nik Poliwko
(Tiki Surf Witches Want Blood, The Creeps, Tales from Grim County)

Best Letterer
Nate Piekos
(Colder: Toss the Bones, Alabaster: The Good, the Bad & The Bird, The Steam Man,
Aliens: Defiance, House of Penance, Weird Detective)

Best Horror Comic Cover
Fan voting determined the Winner
Gore Shriek Resurrectus Volume 1: Cover B
(Artist Putrid Matt Carr)

Hall of Fame Inductees
Johnny Craig 
Gary Reed 

Normanton Award Honoree
Presented for their commitment to carrying on the legacy of Horror Comics for generations to come.
Craig Yoe

Named for acclaimed comics creator "Ghastly" Graham Ingels, the Awards are in their 6th year. Created to honor excellence in Horror Comics, Comic Creators and Publishers can submit their books for nomination consideration throughout the calendar year. The top five nominees in each category will be chosen by the Judges, and will then be voted on by the Judges, Creators, Publishers and Fans to decide the winners.

We thank everyone who took the time to vote in the 2016 Awards. The submission process is now open for the 2017 Awards!

We congratulate all of the Winners and Nominees for what they bring to the comic reading community. To be nominated is an honor and the Ghastly Awards are here to celebrate your achievements.

For more information on the Ghastly Awards, or to submit your horror comics for the 2017 Award season please go to www.ghastlyawards.com.

Our Sponsors

For info on how to become a Ghastly Award Sponsor please go to
The Sponsor Page.
Copyright © Ghastly Awards | Designed by Templateism.com | Bloggerized by Decapitated Dan