2012 Ghastly Award Winners!

Share & Comment

The 2012 Ghastly Award Winners

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2012 Ghastly Awards. Nominees were chosen from entries nominated by their professional peers: Comic Book Artists, Writers, and Publishers. Winners were chosen by the Ghastly Awards Judges, Comic Book Creators and the Fans. The Ghastly Judicial Panel congratulates all 2012 Winners and Nominees. It is an honor to be recognized by your fellow professionals for such outstanding work in horror comics.

The 2012 Winners are:

Best Ongoing Title:
The Walking Dead (Image) 

Best Mini-Series:
Deadworld: War of the Dead (IDW)

Best One-Shot: 
Edgar Allan Poe’s The Conqueror Worm (Dark Horse) 

Best New Series (Fans Decided the Winner):
Mars Attacks (IDW) 

Best Anthology:
Creepy (Dark Horse) 

Best OGN:
Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse Book 1 (Heavy Metal) 

Best Archival Collection: 
 The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: Zombies (IDW/Yoe Books)

Best Writer:  
 Steve Niles (Criminal Macabre, 30 Days of Night, Transfusion, Frankenstein Alive, Alive, Lot 13)

Best Artist:
 Simon Bisley (Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, Hellblazer)

Best Inker:
 Bernie Wrightson (Frankenstein Alive, Alive) 

Best Letterer:
 Nate Piekos (Creepy, The Goon, Ragemoor)

Best Colorist:
 Dave Stewart (B.P.R.D.) 

Best Web Comic:
Crossed: Wish You Were Here (www.crossedcomic.com)

Hall of Fame Inductees:
Al Feldstein & Bill Gaines
Bernie Wrightson

Named for acclaimed comics creator "Ghastly" Graham Ingels, the Awards are in their 2nd year. Created to honor excellence in Horror Comics, every comic creator had a say in who the nominees were by nominating their favorites throughout the year.

We thank everyone who took the time to nominate and vote in the 2012 Awards. The submission process is now open for the 2013 Awards!

We congratulate all of the Winners and Nominees for what they bring to the comic reading community. To be nominated by your comic book creating peers is a big honor and the Ghastly Awards are here to celebrate your achievements.

For more information on the Ghastly Awards, or to submit your horror comics for the 2013 Award season please go to www.ghastlyawards.com.

Our Sponsors

For info on how to become a Ghastly Award Sponsor please go to
The Sponsor Page.
Copyright © Ghastly Awards | Designed by Templateism.com | Bloggerized by Decapitated Dan