The 2012 Ghastly Award Nominees

Share & Comment

The 2012 Ghastly Award Winners

will be announced on February 4, 2013!



The 2012 Ghastly Award Nominees

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the 2012 Ghastly Award Nominees. The nominees, which were chosen by the entire comic creating community, reflect the wide range of horror material being published in print and web comic form today.

Named after acclaimed comics creator “Ghastly” Graham Ingels, the awards are now in their 2nd year. Created to honor excellence in Horror Comics, every comic creator had a say in who the nominees were by nominating their favorites throughout the year.

Fan and Creator Voting will be open from January 1, 2013 until January 31, 2013. You may only vote once for the 2012 Nominees, and Fans will decide the winner of the Best New Series Award. 
Winners will be announced in February 2013.

We thank everyone who took the time to nominate in this years awards.

The 2012 Nominees are: 

Best Ongoing Title:
American Vampire (Vertigo)
Hack/Slash (Image)
Hellblazer (Vertigo)
Rachel Rising (Abstract Studios)
The Walking Dead (Image) 

Best Mini-Series:
Deadworld: War of the Dead (IDW)
Ragemoor (Dark Horse)
Rebel Blood (Image) 
Severed (Image) 
The Living Corpse: Exhumed (Dynamite) 

Best One-Shot: 
Edgar Allan Poe’s The Conqueror Worm (Dark Horse) 
Enormous (Image) 
Ghosts (Vertigo) 
Locke & Key: Grindhouse (IDW) 
Steamcraft (Antarctic Press)

Best New Series (Fans Will Decide the Winner):
 Bedlam (Image) 
Ferals (Avatar) 
Hoax Hunters (Image) 
Mars Attacks (IDW) 
The Strain (Dark Horse) 

Best Anthology:
Bela Lugosi’s Tales from the Grave (Monsterverse) 
Chillers (Transfuzion) 
Creepy (Dark Horse) 
Fubar: Summer Special (Alterna) 
Indie Comics Horror (Aazum) 

Best OGN:
Flesh and Blood Book 2 (Monsterverse) 
Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse Book 1 (Heavy Metal) 
Riven (Dark Horse) 
The Hive (Pantheon) 
Whispers in the Walls (Humanoids)
Best Archival Collection: 
Best of From the Tomb Magazine (Twomorrows)
 The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: Zombies (IDW/Yoe Books)
 Creepy Presents Richard Corben (Dark Horse)
 Lenore Swirlies (Titan Books)
 Vampirella Archives Vol. 5 (Dynamite) 

Best Writer:  
David Hine (The Darkness, Night of the Living Dead: Aftermath)
 David Lapham (Ferals, Crossed Badlands, The Strain, Caligula)
 Jeff Lemire (Animal Man, Justice League Dark)
 Steve Niles (Criminal Macabre, 30 Days of Night, Transfusion, Frankenstein Alive, Alive, Lot 13)
 Robert Tinnell (Flesh and Blood Book 2, Riven) 

Best Artist:
Rafael Albuquerque (American Vampire)
 Simon Bisley (Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, Hellblazer)
 Sami Makkonen (Deadworld: War of the Dead)
 Riley Rossmo (Bedlam, Green Wake, Rebel Blood)
 James Stokoe (Godzilla: Half Century War) 

Best Inker:
Richard Corben (Edgar Allan Poe’s The Conqueror Worm, Ragemoor)
 David Hutchison (Steamcraft)
 Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)
 Andrea Sorrentino (I, Vampire)
 Bernie Wrightson (Frankenstein Alive, Alive) 

Best Letterer:
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)
 Nate Piekos (Creepy, The Goon, Ragemoor)
 Robbie Robbins (Locke & Key)
 James Stokoe (Godzilla: Half Century War)
 Kelly Tindall (Bedlam, Green Wake, Rebel Blood) 

Best Colorist:
Ulises Arreola (Justice League Dark)
 Chad Fidler (Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse)
 Jay Fotos (‘68, Locke & Key)
 Owen Gieni (Avengelyne)
 Dave Stewart (B.P.R.D.) 

Best Web Comic:
Crossed: Wish You Were Here (
 Disappointing Monsters (
 Halloween Man (
 Love Stories About Death (
 Monsterhood (
 The Manor ( 

Hall of Fame Inductees:
Al Feldstein & Bill Gaines
Bernie Wrightson

We congratulate all of the Nominees for what they bring to the comic reading community. To be nominated by your peers is a big honor and the Ghastly Awards are here to celebrate your achievements.

For more information on the Ghastly Awards, or to submit your Horror Comics for consideration in the 2013 Awards, please go to

Our Sponsors

For info on how to become a Ghastly Award Sponsor please go to
The Sponsor Page.
Copyright © Ghastly Awards | Designed by | Bloggerized by Decapitated Dan