Winners and Nominees

Share & Comment

2013 Winners and Nominees:
(Winners in Red)

Best Ongoing Title:
Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)
B.P.R.D. (Dark Horse) • Coffin Hill (Vertigo)
John Carpenter's Asylum (Storm King Comics) • Rachel Rising (Abstract Studios)

Best Mini-Series:
Locke & Key: Omega (IDW Publishing)
Colder (Dark Horse) • Five Ghosts: The Haunting of Fabian Gray (Image Comics)
Killogy (IDW Publishing) • Lot 13 (DC Comics)

Best One-Shot: 
Edgar Allan Poe: The Raven & The Red Death (Dark Horse)
'68: Hallowed Ground (Image Comics) • Baltimore: The Widow and The Tank (Dark Horse)
Fubar: Free Comic Book Day (Alterna Comics/Fubar Press)
The Living Corpse: Haunted (Dynamite Entertainment)

Best New Series (Fans Will Decide the Winner):
Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)
Abe Sapien (Dark Horse) • Coffin Hill (Vertigo)
Ghosted (Image Comics) • Ten Grand (Image Comics)

Best Anthology:
Bloke's Terrible Tomb of Terror (Independent)
American Vampire Anthology (Vertigo)
Bela Lugosi's Tales From the Grave (Monsterverse Entertainment)
The Witching Hour (Vertigo) • Twisted Dark (T Publications)

Best OGN:
Hellboy: The Midnight Circus (Dark Horse)
Aliens: Inhuman Condition (Dark Horse) • Eldritch (SLG)
Flesh & Blood Vol. 3 (Monsterverse Entertainment) • The Shadow Out of Time (SelfMadeHero)

Best Archival Collection: 
Steve Ditko Monsters Vol. 1: Gorgo (IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)
B.P.R.D. 1948  (Dark Horse) • Creepy Archives Vol. 17 (Dark Horse)
The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: Haunted Horror (IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)
The Human Gargoyles (Bleeding Moon Comics)

Best Writer:  
Joe Hill (Locke & Key: Omega)
John Arcudi (Abe Sapien, B.P.R.D.) • Cullen Bunn (Helheim, Sixth Gun)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising) • Paul Tobin (Colder)

Best Artist:
Richard Corben (Edgar Allan Poe's The Raven and the Red Death)
Glenn Fabry (Lot 13) • Juan Ferreyra (Colder, Kiss Me Satan)
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie) • Gabriel Rodriguez (Locke & Key: Omega)

Best Inker:
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)
Jason Paulos (EEEK!) • Drew Rausch (Eldritch, My Blacks Don't Match)
Emma Rios (Pretty Deadly) • Rob Sacchetto (Rob Sacchetto's Cape Fear)

Best Letterer:
Clem Robins (B.P.R.D., Baltimore, Hellboy in Hell, The Strain)
Jack Morelli (Afterlife with Archie)
Nate Piekos (Billy the Kid's Old Timey Oddities, Colder, Kiss Me Satan, To Hell You Ride)
Robbie Robbins (Locke & Key, X-Files) • Rus Wooton (Ghosted, The Walking Dead)

Best Colorist:
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)
Jordie Bellaire (Pretty Deadly, The X-Files) • Jay Fotos ('68, Locke & Key: Omega)
Miroslav Mrva (Ghosted) • Dave Stewart (Abe Sapien, B.P.R.D., Hellboy: The Midnight Circus)

Best Web Comic:
The Last Halloween (
Chopping Block (
Crossed: Wish You Were Here (
My Blacks Don't Match (
The Eighth Seal (

Hall of Fame Inductees:
Gene Colan
Archie Goodwin
2012 Winners and Nominees:
(Winners in Red)

Best Ongoing Title:
The Walking Dead (Image Comics)
 American Vampire (Vertigo) • Hack/Slash (Image)
Hellblazer (Vertigo) • Rachel Rising (Abstract Studios)

Best Mini-Series:
Deadworld: War of the Dead (IDW Publishing)
Ragemoor (Dark Horse) • Rebel Blood (Image) 
Severed (Image) • The Living Corpse: Exhumed (Dynamite)

Best One-Shot:
Edgar Allan Poe’s The Conqueror Worm (Dark Horse)
Enormous (Image) • Ghosts (Vertigo) 
Locke & Key: Grindhouse (IDW) • Steamcraft (Antarctic Press)

Best New Series (Fan Voting Decided Winner):
Mars Attacks (IDW Publishing)
 Bedlam (Image) • Ferals (Avatar) 
Hoax Hunters (Image) • The Strain (Dark Horse)

Best Anthology:
Creepy (Dark Horse)
Bela Lugosi’s Tales from the Grave (Monsterverse) • Chillers (Transfuzion)  
Fubar: Summer Special (Alterna) • Indie Comics Horror (Aazum)

Best OGN:
Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse Book 1 (Heavy Metal) 
Flesh and Blood Book 2 (Monsterverse) • Riven (Dark Horse) 
The Hive (Pantheon) • Whispers in the Walls (Humanoids)

Best Archival Collection:
The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: Zombies (IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)
Best of From the Tomb Magazine (Twomorrows) • Creepy Presents Richard Corben (Dark Horse)
 Lenore Swirlies (Titan Books) • Vampirella Archives Vol. 5 (Dynamite)

Best Writer:
 Steve Niles (Criminal Macabre, 30 Days of Night, Transfusion)
David Hine (The Darkness, Night of the Living Dead: Aftermath)
David Lapham (Ferals, Crossed Badlands, The Strain, Caligula)
 Jeff Lemire (Animal Man, Justice League Dark)
 Robert Tinnell (Flesh and Blood Book 2, Riven)

Best Artist:
 Simon Bisley (Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, Hellblazer)
Rafael Albuquerque (American Vampire)
 Sami Makkonen (Deadworld: War of the Dead)
 Riley Rossmo (Bedlam, Green Wake, Rebel Blood)
 James Stokoe (Godzilla: Half Century War)

Best Inker:
 Bernie Wrightson (Frankenstein Alive, Alive)
 David Hutchison (Steamcraft)
 Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)
 Andrea Sorrentino (I, Vampire)
 Bernie Wrightson (Frankenstein Alive, Alive)

Best Letterer:
Nate Piekos (Creepy, The Goon, Ragemoor)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)
 Robbie Robbins (Locke & Key)
 James Stokoe (Godzilla: Half Century War)
 Kelly Tindall (Bedlam, Green Wake, Rebel Blood) 

Best Colorist:
 Dave Stewart (B.P.R.D.)
Ulises Arreola (Justice League Dark)
 Chad Fidler (Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse)
 Jay Fotos (‘68, Locke & Key)
 Owen Gieni (Avengelyne)

Best Web Comic:
Crossed: Wish You Were Here
 Disappointing Monsters (
 Halloween Man (
 Love Stories About Death (
 Monsterhood (
 The Manor (

Hall of Fame Inductees:
Al Feldstein & Bill Gaines
Bernie Wrightson
2011 Winners and Nominees:
(Winners in Red)

Best Ongoing Title:
Sixth Gun (Oni Press)
 Animal Man (DC) • The Goon (Dark Horse) 
Walking Dead (Image Comics) • Hellblazer (Vertigo)

Best Mini-Series:
’68 (Image Comics)
Hellboy: The Fury (Dark Horse) • Locke & Key: Keys to the Kingdom (IDW Publishing)
Witch Doctor (Image Comics) • The Vault (Image Comics)

Best One-Shot:
Hellblazer Annual 2011 (Vertigo)
Hellboy – Buster Oakley (Dark Horse) • Fail of the Dead (Antarctic Press)
Locke & Key: Guide to the Known Keys (IDW Publishing) • ’68 Hardship (Image Comics)

Best New Series:
Green Wake (Image Comics)
Animal Man (DC) • Witch Doctor (Image Comics)
Hellraiser (BOOM! Studios) • I, Vampire (DC)

Best Anthology:
Creepy (Dark Horse)
Hellraiser Masterpieces (BOOM! Studios) • Fubar 2 (Alterna Comics)
Strange Aeons Magazine (Strange Aeons) • A Very Zombie Christmas (Antarctic Press)

Best OGN:
Flesh & Blood (Monsterverse)
Crossed 3-D (Avatar) • Black Fire (Archaia)
Deadworld: Last Siesta (IDW Publishing) • Dear Creature (Tor)

Best Archival Collection:
Bob Powell’s Terror (IDW Publishing)
Awakening Omnibus (Archaia) • Creepy Archives Vol. 10 (Dark Horse)
Deadworld Classics Vol. 2 (IDW Publishing) • Creepy Presents: Bernie Wrightson (Dark Horse)

Best Writer:
Cullen Bunn – The Sixth Gun
Joe Hill – Locke & Key • Robert Tinnell – Flesh & Blood
Steve Niles – Doc Macbre, Criminal Macabre • Robert Kirkman – Walking Dead

Best Artist:
Riley Rossmo – Green Wake
Gabriel Rodriguez – Locke & Key • Neil Vokes – Flesh and Blood
Garrie Gastonny – The Vault • Jacen Burrows – Neonomicon

Best Inker:
Mark Bloodworth – Deadworld Last Siesta
Riley Rossmo – Green Wake • Jonathan Case – Dear Creature
Charlie Adlard – The Walking Dead • Terry Moore – Rachel Rising

Best Letterer:
Menton Matthews III – Monocyte
Thomas Mauer – Awakening Omnibus • Kelly Tindall – Green Wake
Marshal Dillion – Skullkickers • Terry Moore – Rachel Rising

Best Colorist:
Jay Fotos – Locke & Key, ’68
Dave Stewart – BPRD • Matt Webb – Flesh and Blood
Misty Coats – Skullkickers • Atilla Futaki – Severed

Best Web Comic:
Disappointing Monsters
Tales of Mr. Rhee • Romantically Apocalyptic
Sex and Monsters • Frankenstein Superstar

Hall of Fame Inductee:
"Ghastly" Graham Ingels

Our Sponsors

For info on how to become a Ghastly Award Sponsor please go to
The Sponsor Page.
Copyright © Ghastly Awards | Designed by | Bloggerized by Decapitated Dan